top of page

Pussy Polaroid Project


The “Pussy Polaroid Project” invites women use their voice and image in a collective effort to actively GRAB BACK against patriarchy. GRAB BACK: PES Feminist Incubator Space at the Project for Empty Space gallery in Newark, New Jersey, is a series of short-term residencies, which focus on the freedom and empowerment of women. The “Pussy Polaroid Project,” which is an ongoing interactive project, takes place not only in the space’s Feminist Reading Lounge, but also on Instagram, with the username: @pesgrabback. Scrolling through their Instagram feed, both women and men use the Pussy Polaroid Project to share stories, show their resistance, and empower and support other women. Each person hold a sign related to what they are writing about, for example one woman, Eirini L, is holding a sign saying: “If my pussy could speak to the house it would say _____.” Her caption states, "If my pussy could speak to the house it would say: stop speaking for me." Others are more serious, Christen C is holding a sign saying “I have felt threatened because of my gender affiliation,” and the caption states "I have felt threatened, been threatened, been attacked. I was raped at 15 and assaulted by a boyfriend in my 20s. It wasn't my fault but I didn't really get it until I was in my 40s. Feminist art and writing saved my life. It showed me I was not alone. Lately, I have been thinking a lot about an 1828 Mvskoke law about sexual assault that ends with '...what she say, it be law.' This assumes she is believed. That assumes her autonomy. I want to eradicate rape. I want freedom and BODILY AUTONOMY for EVERYONE" - Christen C.


 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page